Racing in the Riff…

Penrith… The heart of Western Sydney!

Home to big houses, big personalities, and this place… The Sydney International Regatta Centre!

20151025_061625

The Nepean Triathlon is an iconic race. Pretty sure its been held every year out in the ‘Riff (as the locals call it) since the days of Captain Cook. Ok, maybe not quite… but 30+ years so I am told!

As a short course race (1km swim / 30km bike / 10km run) I felt this one was the perfect opportunity for a bit of a test event, not only of my fitness but for the upcoming Western Sydney 70.3 in another 5 weeks time. A race that will utilise the same venue!

Heading into 2 weeks of ‘training’ holidays post race, it was also a great chance to test the body and see what needs a bit of tuning!

Just going to put this straight out there… What a race!
20151025_061357

The swim was a relatively straightforward affair. Warm temps meant a non-wetsuit swim, and being a rowing centre the water is dead still, both conditions of which suited my ‘pool-swimming’ style quite nicely.

Although I tried to make it with the front pack, I couldn’t keep up and fell off the back about 350m in. I ended up at the front of the second pack for most of the swim, leading a small group into transition.

And then i ran past my bike…
20151025_063341

How i can run past this lovely lady I am not sure! But a quick shout out from coach Mick of the sidelines put me in my spot!

Rookie error, but we live to learn!

I had decided to push hard on the bike going into this race, and push hard was what i did! Only dropped one position out of the water to 7th on the bike, and went out to push some of the boys around me. Boy did they respond! Some strong bikers out there today.

Only criticism was a few technical sections on the ‘new and improved’ bike course. To tight, to congested, shitty surface.. Unnecessary. Lets keep the ride moving next time yeah?

It was the run that was my biggest test probably mentally more than physically going into this race for me. Having struggled recently with a few niggles it would become very clear very quickly on the fast, flat and heating up run course whether I had any run fitness or the head game ti compete how i wanted to.

Turns out the legs backed up what the head wanted to do! After getting two of the other boys in T2, I started the run in 5th place. The target was 4min/km pace for the 10km run.. 5km in the Garmin was telling me 3:45!! Sweet!! So far so good!

And then, it a click of the fingers at the 6km mark, the pace dropped back, the heat increased and the game was on.

VIRB Picture

I could see behind me the two guys i got in transition slowly closing the gap I had put on them.. Km by km they got closer.. And then at the 9km mark… the move was made..

I tried (for about 15seconds!) to match the pace in the final stretch but felt my form coming undone. Unfortunate, but great racing 🙂 Overall i ended up with 40:04 for my split, so still super stoked with the result.

Final: 1:47:06 (7th AG, 55 overall)

Big shout out to all the HPT support crew out there! You guys are amazing!

VIRB Picture

20151025_141607

Now I am off on a two week trip up north to train, catch up with some extraordinary people, eat some amazing food and get in some much needed chilling time on the beach!

#RoadTrip!! YEEEW! I will of course keep you all posted on my holiday!

In the meantime, cheers and beers!

Matt


Leave a comment